Boards and Commissions

Click here for information on qualifications of the elected and appointed officials

The Planning Commission is a seven member advisory body to the Board of Supervisors and appointed to terms of office for 4 years. Members must be residents of the Township and they donate their time to the township for monthly meetings and work sessions as needed. The Commission reviews and makes recommendations on subdivision and land development plans, prepares and/or recommends ordinance regarding subdivision, land development and zoning.

Planning Commission Members and Term Expiration:

Anthony Biacchi, Chairman 12/31/17
Kathryn Y. Deaville 12/31/18
Robert A. Korbonits 12/31/20
Donald Lynn 12/31/19
Wesley Thomas 12/31/17
Wilber (Bill) Tritle 12/31/1
Vacancy 12/31/18

The EAC shall consist of a minimum of five members who are appointed to a term of 3 years. Members must be residents of the Township and donate their time to the township for monthly meetings and work sessions as needed. The EAC is to be advisory to and shall coordinate its activities with the Board of Supervisors, Planning Commission, Parks and Recreation Board, Open Space Review Board, Historical Commission and other such Township entities. The EAC advises the Board of Supervisors regarding the identification of environmental problems and conditions and makes recommendations on plans and programs to promote the conservation of the natural resources for protection and improvement of the quality of the environment within East Bradford Township.

Environmental Advisory Council (EAC)

Kathy J. Bergmann, Chairperson 12/31/19
Jeffrey Cantwell 12/31/19
David Williams 12/31/17 
Mark Pontzer, Jr. 12/31/17
Maura Sheehan 12/31/18
Margaret VanGilder 12/31/18
Steven I. Werner 12/31/18

Alternate Members
Neil Weissman  12/31/16
Mark Pontzer, Esq.  12/31/16

The Zoning Hearing Board is a three-member body, with one alternate, appointed by the Board of Supervisors for a three-year term of office. The main purpose of the Zoning Hearing Board is to assure fair and equitable application and administration of the zoning ordinance by hearing appeals on the Zoning Officer’s decisions and by granting relief from the enforcement of the ordinance in certain hardship situations. The Board has no legislative power, it can neither make nor modify zoning policy and it does not have enforcement powers. It is a quasi-judicial body; that is, its powers are to some extent judicial in nature. The Board schedules hearings on applications and appeals that come before it, takes evidence, and issues written decisions with findings of fact and conclusions of law. Decisions of the Zoning Hearing Board are final and cannot be overruled by the Board of Supervisors. However, both the applicant and the Board of Supervisors have the right to appeal the decision to the Chester County Court of Common Pleas. The Board's activities are limited to those permitted by the Municipalities Planning Code and the East Bradford Township Zoning Ordinance.

Zoning Hearing Board Members and Term Expiration:

Alfred Gollatz, Esq. 12/31/18
Kamil Ali-Jackson 12/31/17
P. Andrew Schaum, Esq. 12/31/19
Alternate: Dainiel Bush, Esq.  12/31/17

The Parks & Recreation Board is a seven-member board of residents, appointed by the Board of Supervisors for a 5-year term of office. The members donate their time to find lands for recreation within the Township boundaries, make recommendations to the Board of Supervisors for these lands and work at creating recreation events for the residents. They also oversee the use and care of the recreation fields and parks. In November 2004, the Board of Supervisors appointed a Trails Subcommittee of the Parks and Recreation Board to focus on trail design and construction.

Park & Recreation Board Members and Term Expiration:

Marianne Bausinger, Chairperson, 12/31/17
John Fidler 12/31/19
Joseph Hamel 12/31/19
Michael Colley 12/31/18
John Spangler 12/31/18
Tony Blanco  12/31/21
Ash Swayne 12/31/20

The Historical Commission consists of seven members who are appointed to a 5-year term of office by the Board of Supervisors. The members, who must be residents, donate their time to oversee the Historic Resources Protection Standards of the Township Ordinance, which provides a comprehensive framework for the preservation of historic sites, objects, buildings, structures and districts in East Bradford Township. The Commission also researches and proposes the nomination of significant resources for placement on the National Register of Historic Places and other appropriate lists or programs. It also reviews and comments on subdivision or land development applications which affect historic resources and the issuance of demolition permits for historic resources. Those areas listed on the National Register of Historic Places are listed in detail under Township Facts and History.

Historical Commission Members and Term Expiration:

Mary Sue Boyle  Chairperson, 12/31/21
Ann Armstrong 12/31/17
Rick Kirijan 12/31/17
Jean Renshaw 12/31/18
Peggy Scholl 12/31/21
Richard Gallagher 12/31/19
Marie Boisvert 12/31/20

HARB consist of five members appointed by the Board of Supervisors to a 5-year term of office. Membership shall consist of a realtor, architect and the Township building inspector and two members of the Historic Committee, who donate their time. HARB considers only those matters that are pertinent to the preservation of the historic aspect and nature of the buildings and structures located within the certified historic districts within the Township. When a hearing is held on an application for work to be done within a historic district, HARB will make recommendations to the Board of Supervisors for a Certificate of Appropriateness, after which a building permit can be issued for the work to be completed.

Historical Architectural Review Board Members and Term Expiration:

Ann Armstrong 12/31/18
Brenden Beaumont 12/31/17
Richard D. Buchanan, AIA 12/31/19
Barbara M. Moses 12/31/20
Mary Sue Boyle 12/31/17

The Traffic Committee is an ad hoc committee of East Bradford Township organized for the purpose of objectively analyzing traffic related concerns within East Bradford Township and making recommendations thereon to the Board of Supervisors. Any recommendations shall be congruent with the desire to the Township to remain rural and scenic in character while also considering budgetary constraints. Members are appointed to a one year term of service and include residents and also members of the police department, school district, the Township Engineer and Director of Public Works.

Traffic Committee members:

Ken Cavanaugh,
Patrick Davis, resident
Andrew DeFonzo, resident

Eric Ruggeri, resident
Joanne Yarnall, West Chester School District
Chief Scott Bohn, West Chester Police Department
Mark Lucas, Township Engineer
John Carroll, Director of Public Works

The Trails Committee members work to implement the Township’s trail plan included in the Township Open Space, Recreation, and Environmental Resources Plan, work with landowners to acquire trail easements, monitor existing trails to ensure trails are properly maintained, consider  trail design and alignment, and participate in volunteer trail construction projects.  Members of the committee represent a cross section of trail users (equestrians, hikers, and road and mountain bikers) and are appointed each year by the Board of Supervisors. 

 Join us on Facebook
East Bradford Township  ♦  666 Copeland School Road  ♦  West Chester, PA 19380  ♦ 
610-436-5108  ♦  info@eastbradford.org
Official Web site of East Bradford Township | ©2009-2014 East Bradford Township PA. All rights reserved.